Musical Backgrounds?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

skyline
Chatterbox

USA
143 Posts

Posted - 03/15/2005 :  11:31:15 PM  Show Profile  Visit skyline's Homepage  Send skyline an AOL message  Reply with Quote
I'm just curious as to what kinds of musical backgrounds most of you come from. Self-taught, professional musician, teacher, etc., etc...

I really started playing in college...I did the classical thing for a while. I was a music major for a year before I switched to math. I'm now a high school math teacher, but I do teach a beginners guitar class, which I love. It keeps me sane...

http://www.dmbforums.com

dan p.
Alien Abductee

Uganda
3776 Posts

Posted - 03/16/2005 :  12:04:28 AM  Show Profile  Send dan p. an AOL message  Reply with Quote
i taught myself for a year, took pickstyle lessons for around 7 years, during which time i learned fingerstyle. i'm coming up on my 3rd year of classical guitar.

i was in a band from 200-2002. we did mostly funk and rock. we weren't very good. i was almost a vocalist for a metalcore group, but that never really took. i've been doing solo shows from around 2003 to now. i'm a second year music major.

death to false metal.
Go to Top of Page

Silky The Pimp
Alien Abductee

3321 Posts

Posted - 03/16/2005 :  01:47:08 AM  Show Profile  Send Silky The Pimp an AOL message  Reply with Quote
I started playing guitar about 10 years ago. I took 2 years of bobo lessons when I first started, but I began to progress a lot more when I began teaching myself.

I play 100% by ear, and I guess I get by technically. I've never played with a band. I've never played in public, and have really only performed a song or two for a few close friends once or twice. Other than that, I pretty much just play for the pure joy of it when nobody is around.

Go to Top of Page

GuitarGuy305
Alien Abductee

USA
2007 Posts