New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

kundalini69
Is Anybody Here?

USA
12 Posts

Posted - 10/11/2004 :  4:41:41 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Well the other day I finally broke down and ordered a D-35. Although I've been playing acoustically for 11 years, I don't know anything about amps/pedals/etc. Any recommendations/suggestions for a good amp to go with the D-35? I'm more comfortable with opinions on here than some guy at the music store that just wants his commission...

JTR
Chatterbox

417 Posts

Posted - 10/11/2004 :  6:01:58 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I'd just go to a music store and plug in and see what you like. I was in your situation with buying an electric amp recently. I went to a used music stuff shop, saw a nice Marshall about my price range, and plugged in and like it right off the bat. Try around.

I have a Fender Acoustasonic 30, and it gets the job done. Lately I've noticed some random hissing, but other than that, it's pretty crystal. I wouldn't necessarily recommend it though, you could probably get a better deal than I did.
Go to Top of Page

GuitarGuy305
Alien Abductee

USA
2007 Posts

Posted - 10/11/2004 :  6:11:41 PM  Show Profile  Send GuitarGuy305 an AOL message  Reply with Quote
I used to have a Crate CA60-D, which I thought sounded great. It produced the most true acoustic sound from my Chet, and plugged in acoustic electrics. Crates also have a vocal channel. Crates are affordable too.

If you have the cash, go with Trace Elliot. Hands down the best acoustic amp I've played through.

Also, SWR Blondes:

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/srs7/g=home/search/d=tp?q=swr+blond

Both also have vocal channels, and very good acoustic soundsfrom plugged in acoustic electrics.

Adam
Go to Top of Page

Poparad
Try A Little Harder

USA
80 Posts

Posted - 10/11/2004 :  11:05:30 PM  Show Profile  Send Poparad an AOL message  Reply with Quote