New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

donniedarko
Is Anybody Here?

18 Posts

Posted - 10/06/2003 :  03:18:07 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hey guys

I've been playing the guitar for 5 years now, and want to take it to the next step. I have recently stumbled upon tims style and love it and would like to learn how to compose my own stuff like tim.

I've been studying music theory for almost 2 years now, i just need some direction as to what new stuff i should learn to help me compose music like tim does.

Help me with some tips and some areas to work on. THanks

Arthen
Alien Abductee

USA
4845 Posts

Posted - 10/06/2003 :  03:22:23 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I have no idea if someone could define Tim's playing as one set style, especially when he does so much improv. You'd be better off working on your own style.

Steve Hackett: "I'm my own opening act, you see."
Tim (before "Faceoff"): "Peace, love....and SEX!"
cbenc41@hotmail.com
Go to Top of Page

donniedarko
Is Anybody Here?

18 Posts

Posted - 10/06/2003 :  04:01:36 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Perhaps i said what i was thinking wrong... I don't know how to ask the question i am thinking. I don't want to duplicate tims style, i enjoy having my own... But he has a craft for creating awesome sounding songs which can be learned. To get to the point where i can create riffs like tim does, i need to know the right theory behind it. I am looking to further my knowledge of guitar theory and don't know where to go from where i am right now.

I guess i am just asking what further music theory i can learn to help me in composing and improvising as tim does
Go to Top of Page

prsmartin
Yak Addict

USA
547 Posts

Posted - 10/06/2003 :  07:03:37 AM  Show Profile  Visit prsmartin's Homepage  Send prsmartin an AOL message  Reply with Quote