Best Bach Pieces
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

CPPJames
Yak Addict

Fyro Macedonia
800 Posts

Posted - 08/22/2005 :  11:46:45 AM  Show Profile  Send CPPJames an AOL message  Reply with Quote
I've taken a liking to classical music, specifically Bach as of late. Anyone recommend any specific pieces/concertos/etc. that I should find? I'm completely new to classical in general...but I'd like to grab the stuff that's really stellar. There's so much to sift through right now. Thanks!

Zachmozach
Fluffy-Esque

USA
1534 Posts

Posted - 08/22/2005 :  1:32:47 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I've been listening to some of the Brandenburg concertos recently. I also really enjoy listening to his organ works. It's almost a general rule with Bach though that if he wrote it, it's good. He wrote so much I haven't even begun to hear the full scope of what Bach meant musically and few people have. Since he wrote such an incredible amount I would consider checking his music out by instrumentation in the begining.

Go to Top of Page

Banjobach
Is Anybody Here?

USA
15 Posts

Posted - 08/22/2005 :  7:29:59 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
check out dvorak's symphony #9 from the new world. One piece is called allegro con fueco or something but it is simply awesome. Anything he did from the "New World" is pretty cool.
Go to Top of Page

dan p.
Alien Abductee

Uganda
3776 Posts

Posted - 08/23/2005 :  01:31:29 AM  Show Profile  Send dan p. an AOL message  Reply with Quote
i would have to say his Mass in B Minor is my favorite. but when you stop to consider the amount of bach i've heard as compared to the total amount, you have to take that with a grain of salt.