Where is school going these days?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Jay
Alien Abductee

Vatican City
2279 Posts

Posted - 01/29/2003 :  3:40:27 PM  Show Profile  Send Jay an AOL message  Reply with Quote
OK guys...a complaint here...

First off, I'm a writer. When I'm not playing guitar I'm writing something, whether it be a funny essay on a certain subject or a ghost story, I'm always doing it...wait...I'm seeting myself up by saying always doing it, right? Nevermind.
So What I'm saying is that in order for me to express myself (Which is what language is for, right?) I should do it in my own way, how I want to do it. Many an author has said that language and writing have no limitations. In fact, the best writers are the ones that write in thier own way, not the way an aging literature manual says, right? So anywho, I'm sitting in class thinking about this...If an English teacher truly cares about a student, and truly wants him or her to do well and EXPRESS themselves, then shouldn't those students be allowed to write how they want?