Song in what Key?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

JTR
Chatterbox

417 Posts

Posted - 05/09/2002 :  4:28:27 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I'm planning to do a jam for the mellow jam in Lie In Our Graves, somehwhat like Reynolds does when he's on tour with the DMB. I just need to check this out, but I'm pretty sure the song is in the key of D, right? I'm still new to some of this stuff so my scale and key analysis isn't that great.

Saint Jude
Alien Abductee

USA
2144 Posts

Posted - 05/09/2002 :  5:41:37 PM  Show Profile  Send Saint Jude an AOL message  Reply with Quote
yep, key o d it is. D maj will be the scale u want to use.

- Without you, without you everything falls apart
Without you, it's not as much fun to pick up the pieces.
Go to Top of Page

JTR
Chatterbox

417 Posts

Posted - 05/09/2002 :  6:04:44 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Thanks, that's what I thought but I just wanted to make sure.
Go to Top of Page

NeverKillADream
Yak Addict

USA
652 Posts

Posted - 05/09/2002 :  11:49:43 PM  Show Profile  Visit NeverKillADream's Homepage  Send NeverKillADream an AOL message  Reply with Quote
I would go with D Mixolydian. It's my
favorite scale, sounds eastern played over key of D, and also
sounds very nice over the key of G.

Go to Top of Page

victorwootenfan
Alien Abductee

USA
2128 Posts

Posted - 05/10/2002 :  1:13:45 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
i'd say "B" harmonic minor. it stays close to the d major scale, but it has that awesome augemented 2nd in it and sounds very eastern indeed!

"You must be the change you wish to see in the world." -Gandhi
Go to Top of Page

NeverKillADream
Yak Addict

USA
652 Posts

Posted - 05/10/2002 :  2:57:19 PM  Show Profile  Visit NeverKillADream's Homepage  Send NeverKillADream an AOL message  Reply with Quote
How about a Hybrid, of D Mixo/B Harm/D major...errrr come on man just jam for the love of god.

Go to Top of Page

j
Chatterbox

149 Posts