New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

{=HTG=}
Alien Abductee

USA
2342 Posts

Posted - 10/17/2001 :  8:29:26 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hello, I am the HispanicTeenGuitarist, and i'm 15. I picked up a copy of a Tim Reynolds CD about half a year ago, and his skill blew me away. Then I bought Live at Luther College, Dave and Tim, the two best guitar players in the world, inspired me to buy a guitar. I got myself a Yamaha acoustic (hearing that those are good for beginers)
I've been playing for about 4 months, and I havent taken any classes, but I did manage to learn a couple of easy Dave songs, but do you guys have any tips for me on how to improve? Thanks!

zach winters
Is Anybody Here?

12 Posts

Posted - 10/17/2001 :  9:17:56 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
If you can, try to learn songs by ear. Try picking out songs written for other instruments. Test your pitch or ear all the time. Expose yourself to different players and styles. Play with people that are better than you. Experience actually playing, or performing, is invaluable. Don't limit yourself in the people you listen to. I have found that the people that I listen to, listened to the classics or classical. Classical music, even if it is difficult sometimes to listen to, will open you up to a lot more as far as formulating how you want your music to sound and is the best place to start a background in music. Ask other players what they think about something but always try to find your own sound. If you want some names of artists, I've got some.

I don't know if that helps at all or if I was just talking, but I hope that helps.

Peace,
Zachary McGee Winters

Go to Top of Page

dirtysloth
Fluffy-Esque

USA
1302 Posts

Posted - 10/17/2001 :  9:18:52 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote